Call for Submissions: Joy Kogawa Award for Fiction – Dateline August 15

Submit before midnight August 15, 2022
Send 10 pages of your original, unpublished (print or online) fiction in .doc, .docx, or .pdf format.
Short List: Top six entries
2nd and 3rd place Winners: Honourable Mention
First place Winner: $1000

Judge: Catherine With
Jury Members: Hannah McReady & Fauzia Rafique

Cathleen With is an author and educator who has published two books of fiction. Her novel, ‘Having Faith in the Polar Girls’ Prison‘, was a BC Book Prize winner, and her short story collection ‘Skids‘ was a Relit finalist that is now optioned for film.

Hannah Macready is a writer and editor whose articles and stories have been published in Canada, UK and the USA. In 2017, she received the Maurice Hodgson Award for Creative Distinction. She writes regular web content for Douglas College’s EVENT Magazine.

Joy Kogawa Award for Fiction is open to Canadian citizens, members of Indigenous nations, landed immigrants, permanent residents, refugee applicants, and international students in Canada.

We encourage people of colour, LGBTQ+, disabled, and financially challenged writers to participate.

View Eligibility Criteria and Submission Guidelines at the link below:

Surrey Muse Arts Society

Surrey Muse Arts Society operates from the
unceded Coast Salish territories of
the Semiahmoo, Katzie, Kwikwetlem, Kwantlen,
Qayqayt, Tsawwassen, Musqueam,
Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations.



About Surrey Muse

An interdisciplinary Arts and Literature group that meets Fourth Saturday of each month except December. Presents a Guest Author, a Featured Poet, and a Featured Artist/Performer with two Emerging Writers/Artists. Discussions. Open Mic. Book Table. Book Signings. Free event. Donations welcome.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s