Surrey Muse is an inclusive space initiated by writers, performers and artists who want to excel in our art, who strive to create supportive platforms for ourselves and our peers, and who wish to bring together through art and literature Surrey’s diverse communities.

The group meets on the fourth Friday of each month except December. Each gathering features an author, a poet and a performer/artist at varying levels of artistic development, followed by an Open Mic session.

The language of presentations is English but writers/performers are welcome to read/present in other languages of their expression.

The first meeting of Surrey Muse took place on Friday, November 25, 2011 at the City Centre branch of Surrey Libraries. View posters from then to now: surreymuse.wordpress.com/posters

In 2019, Surrey Muse was incorporated as ‘Surrey Muse Arts Society’, a non-profit organization.

We are grateful to the City of Surrey’s Cultural Grants program for partially funding Surrey Muse for the year 2019.

If you are a writer, poet, artist, visual artist, musician or practice any other art form, we will be happy to have you. Please contact Surrey muse at surrey.muse@gmail.com, use the Recommendations form below or better still, drop by at one of our gatherings.

Surrey Muse projects

Pakistan’s Women Heroes celebrating Pakistani and local women. Being created for Metro Vancouver, it is a complete prototype of a well-researched and well-produced 3-hour program on Pakistani women that can easily be morphed and tailored to the needs of diverse audiences and locations within Canada, the USA, and elsewhere- where the last part allows for the recognition and celebration of woman local to that area.

Surrey Muse Writers (SMW) is a once-a-month free drop-in critique group for writers that will begin to take place from 2019. A 3-month bi-monthly trial run carried out in 2016 has established the need.
Surrey Muse Writers

Surrey Muse At large (SMAL) encourages diverse communities to establish similar platforms as Surrey Muse. The first reading series co-organized by SMAL, titled Word Arts LIVE!, took place from February to June 2017 with Virginia Gillespie at Alexandra Neighborhood House in South Surrey.
Surrey Muse At Large

Mariam Zohra D., President
Fauzia Rafique, Vice President/Coordinator
Sana Janjua, Secretary/Treasurer

Literary Advisers
Joanne Arnott (since 2011)
SheLa Nefertiti Morrison (since 2015)

Legal Adviser
Randeep Purewall (since 2014)

Manolis Aligizakis, Literary Adviser (2015-2018)
Helga Parekh, President (2018-2019)
Sonja Grgar, Media Coordinator (2018-2019)
Sana Janjua, President (2011-2018)
Sonja Grgar, Media Rep/Treasurer (2012-2018)
Helga Parekh, Event co-Organizer (2012-2018)
Randeep Purewall, Treasurer (2011-2014)
Valerie B-Taylor, Literary Adviser (2011-2014)

Sana Janjua and Fauzia Rafique with Randeep Purewall, Mariam Zohra D., and, Valerie B-Taylor as our first Literary Adviser.


Surrey Muse gatherings take place
on the unceded Coast Salish territories of the Katzie,
Kwantlen, Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations.

Surrey Muse continues with the support of
the City Centre library and all its employees,
the work of our volunteers,
and, the light of our participants.

We are deeply saddened by the passing away
of Valerie B-Taylor, in October 2014. A writer,
performer, editor and community organizer, she was also
a Founding Supporter of Surrey Muse, and served
as its first Literary Advisor, and the very first Host.
October 24 Gathering

‘LIKE’ us on FB
Follow on Twitter

Support our Projects
Surrey Muse Writers
Surrey Muse At Large (SMAL)




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s